Testimony from Ebola survivor

The number of people who have contracted the Ebola virus in Guinea, according to the World Health Organization, has risen to 208 – and 136 of them have died. About half of these cases have been confirmed in a laboratory – earlier cases were not tested.

There is no cure for Ebola but with early medical support some people’s bodies are able to develop antibodies to fight it off.

One survivor, who asked not to be named, told the BBC his story.

Testimony:

The symptoms started with headaches, diarrhoea, pains in my back and vomiting.

The first doctor I saw at a village health centre said it was malaria – it was only when I was brought to a special unit at the hospital in [the capital] Conakry that I was told I had the Ebola virus.

I felt really depressed – I had heard about Ebola so when the doctors told me, I was very scared.

I tried to be positive – I was thinking about death, but deep inside I thought my time had not come yet and I would get over it. That’s how I overcame the pain and the fear.

A short while after I was admitted to the hospital for treatment I started feeling better, step by step.

‘Shook my hands’

At first I was scared to eat as I thought I would be sick but after a while I took a few drops of water and realised it was OK and the diarrhoea gradually stopped as well.

The doctors would come to see me and ask questions and one day nearly all my answers were “no” – the doctors were pleased and I realised that I would make it.

That was a very powerful feeling for me.

It was a great feeling when I walked out of the hospital.

We had a little celebration with the doctors, all the nurses and the people who had been waiting for me.

More on http://m.bbc.com/news/world-africa-27112397

About cknaija

cknaija@twitter.com
This entry was posted in Health, Inspirational, news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

