modalities for the proposed National Conference

The Federal government announces modalities for the proposed National Conference.

Announcing the modalities, Anyim Pius Anyim, Secretary to the Federal Government said the national conference shall hold in the Federal Capital Territory and shall tentatively last for three months.

“It shall discuss any subject matter, except the indivisibility and indissolubility of Nigeria as a nation, therefore the unity of Nigeria is non-negotiable,” the statement announcing modalities for the conference read.

The statement adds that a conference management secretariat shall be established to manage the affairs of the conference and mandated it to ensure the compilation of the list of nominees to the conference latest by February 20, 2014.

Delegates to the conference are to be drawn from a cross section of the society including political parties, religious leaders, professional bodies, the Nigeria Union of Journalists, the Nigeria Guild of editors, Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria, the Nigerian Bar Association, traditional rulers, retired military personnel, the academia and women groups among several others.

A breakdown of the modalities for the nomination of the delegates is as follows:

– Elder Statesmen: One per state and the FCT making a total of 37 will be nominated by the President;

– Retired Military and Security Personnel which include one delegate per geopolitical zone each from the Military, Police, State Security and National Intelligence Agency – making it a total of 18 delegates to be nominated by stakeholders;

– Traditional Rulers: two per zone and one from the FCT making a total of 13 delegates to be nominated by stakeholders;

– Retired Civil Servants: one per zone. A total of six to be nominated by stakeholders;

– Labour Representatives: the Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, and Trade Union Congress, TUC, shall each nominate 12 delegates making it a total of 24 which would reflect Geo-political and gender balance;

– The Organised Private sector: NECA, MAN, NACCIMA, NESG shall each nominate two delegates;

– Nigeria Youth Organisations: National Youth Council of Nigeria and National Association of Nigerians Students, NANS, shall each nominate six delegates, one from each geo-political zone, while the Federal Government shall nominate six delegates, one from each geo-political zone for “other” (Outstanding Youths and Role Models) making it a total of 18 delegates;

– Women Groups: National Council Of Women Society, NCWS, shall nominate 12 delegates – two per geo- political zone, while Market Women Association shall nominate one per geo-political zone. International Federation of Women Lawyers, FIDA; Nigerian Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ; and Women in Management and Business, WINBIZ, shall each nominate two Delegates;

– Political Parties: parties that have representation in the National Assembly, including the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, All Progressives Congress, APC, All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, Accord Party, Labour Party, LP, shall each nominate two delegates making it 10 delegates;

– Christian and Muslim Leaders each shall nominate six delegates while Civil Society Organisations shall nominate 24 delegates across board;

– Nigerians in Diaspora ( Europe, America, Africa, Asia, and Middle East) shall nominate two delegates per location, making it eight delegates;

– People Living with Disabilities shall nominate six delegates, one per geo-political zone.

– Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria, Nigeria Guild of Editors, Nigeria Union of Journalists and the Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria shall nominate 2 delegates each;

– Socio – Political/ Cultural and Ethnic Nationality Groups shall nominate 15 delegates each, per geo-political zone to reflect religious and ethnic diversities;

– Professional Bodies including NBA, NSE, CIB, NMA, NIM, NIA, ICAN, ANAN, NIPR, AAPN, NIESV, Nigerian Environment Society and Nigeria Economic Society, shall each nominate one delegate, making it a total of 13 delegates.

– National Academies including the Academy of Science, Academy of Engineering, Academy of Education, Academy of Letters and the Academy of Social Sciences shall each nominate 1 delegate;

– The President shall nominate six persons not currently serving on the bench from the Judiciary;

– Former Political Office Holders including former governors, Senators Forum, House of Reps Forum and the Association of Former Speakers shall each nominate one delegate per geo-political zone making it a total of 24 delegates;

– The Federal Government of Nigeria shall nominate 20 delegates of which at least six will be women;

– The state governments shall each nominate 3 delegates while the FCT shall nominate 1 delegate based on Senatorial District at least one of whom shall be a woman. The nomination shall be done by the state governors and where the state fails to nominate, the President shall nominate the required number from the state;

– The ALGON shall nominate one Former Local Government Chairman each from the six geo- political zones;

– The President shall nominate the Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Secretary, observing geo-political spread.

Fielding questions from journalists Mr. Anyim said that there was already a proposal for the funding of the Conference in the Budget. He added that the Conference will be concluded before the next election season.

Taken from Nigeria Info fb page

About cknaija
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s