Lost Generation

Lost Generation (An adaptation of a poem by Jonathan Reed)

I am a part of a lost generation. And I refuse to believe that I can change the world.

I realize this may be a shock but “Happiness comes from within” is a lie. “Money will make me happy.”

So in 30 years, I will tell my children that they are not the most important thing in my life.

My employer will know that I have my priorities straight Because work is more important than family.

I tell you this, once upon a time families stayed together, But this will not be true in my era

This is a quick fix society.

Expert tell me 30 years from now, I will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of my divorce

I do not concede that I will live in a country of my own making

In the future environmental destruction will be the norm

No longer can it be said that my peers and I care about this Earth.

It will be evident that my generation is apathetic and lethargic

It is foolish to believe that there is hope

And all of this will be true unless we choose to reverse it!

There is hope.

It is foolish to presume that my generation is apathetic and lethargic.

It will be evident that my peers and I care about this Earth.

No longer can it be said that environmental destruction will be the norm.

In the future I will live in a country of my choosing.

I do not concede that 30 years from now I will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of my divorce.

Experts tell me that this is a quick fix society, but this will not be true in my era.

Families stayed together, once upon a time.

I tell you this – family is more important than work.

I have my priorities straight because my employer will know that they are not the most important thing in my life.

So in 30 years I will tell my children that “money will make me happy” is a lie, and “happiness comes from within.”

This might be a shock, but I can change the world!

And I refuse to believe that I am a part of a lost generation.

About cknaija

cknaija@twitter.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

