Did Chimamanda diss Nigerian ladies or not?

Chimamanda has been alleged to have said “African women on Brazilian or Indian hair have low self-esteem” and this has caused an uproar on my bb especially among my female contacts of which I do have many :), I’m known for defending women rights and an advocate especially for respecting our women, empowering and educating them, and Chimamanda comes to mind as a role model for African ladies especially Nigerian, I really do admire her and I’m sure lots of Nigerian ladies do, however that may, touching on Nigerian’s women hair seems a bit too sensitive an issue, judging by the responses I got updating my bb, although I do admire women in Natural, be it long or short and I do have a problem with women going out on a limb to buy stuff they cannot afford to impress people who don’t like them, but there are women who can afford it and may just like to look different (chic/class thingy), they should not be generalized along with those who do have self esteem issues, I guess that’s why the ladies on my bbm went on rampage, I really doubt she said that… And if she did… it was probably taken out of context or a marketing strategy for her new book on hair ;), stumbled upon a link on an interview regarding the book, and it seems it would be another best seller… Fingers crossed ~ cknaija

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie: ‘My new novel is about love, race… and hair’
The author of the bestselling Half of a Yellow Sun talks about her new novel, Americanah, her Nigerian childhood and why she’s a hair ‘fundamentalist’

Interview with the Observer

Your novel includes detailed descriptions of black women having their hair done. Please give me an honest description of your own hair and what it says about you?

That is the best question! My hair is in tiny cornrows; I have a big ponytail on the top of my head. I quite like it. It is natural. I am a bit of a fundamentalist when it comes to black women’s hair. Hair is hair – yet also about larger questions: self-acceptance, insecurity and what the world tells you is beautiful. For many black women, the idea of wearing their hair naturally is unbearable.

I get the feeling you like an argument?

Yes! I love to be challenged, to have ideas tested – and sometimes to be talked into changing my mind

For full interview

http://www.guardian.co.uk/theobserver/2013/apr/07/chimamanda-ngozi-adichie-americanah-interview?CMP=twt_gu

About cknaija

cknaija@twitter.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

