update on lynching of 4 University students

I am a BB/Fb blogger, I try to tie the knots, and information flows faster than usual especially bad news in these days

From a Fb contact on her timeline: feeling so bad….. Concerning d four uniport students killed yesterday.. One of dem is aa friend sister’s son. I heard they went to their rooms, carried them beat them up badly, gave dem acid to drink b4 setting dem ablaze…. I heard they over power d olopa dat came there… Oh God… Still trying to absorb d shock… What a sad way to die….

Then some one asked: did d guys realy steal phn nd laptopz?

And she replied: my dear…. Cant say oh.. I heard dey didnt allow dem to defend demselves… But d guy i know parents r wealthy.. I even heard dat their bodies are still in mortuary.. D fada of ugonna is fighting hard for justice.. I pray God grants him his plight.

Another friend of mine that watched the video had this to say: It cuts, watching the video of those 4 children been beaten to death…I wonder what went on in the mind of the man that kept desecrating their bodies. Who is without sin? Self righteous indignation? Or just because they were students and so fell from the sky.How do they even sleep?

That was yesterday 06/10/12

Today 07/10/12 I got various broadcasts on bb proclaiming to be the true story

TRUTH ABOUT UNIPORT MASSACRE

The 4 boys alleged to be thieves are not actually THIEVES but Cultists. They were on their way to harrass and beat up their Point One in the cult, who has already alerted the vigilantes in the area (Aluu community) that some armed robbers were coming, instead of the truth that he was to be attacked by his cult members… On seeing them, a girl screamed and alerted the vigilantes who arrested, stripped, beat the boys to the point of death and later burnt them. The police came later to claim the bodies.

Governor Rotimi amaechi has ordered the arrest of the people involved in the killing!

Then another broadcast countering the former

#Uniport4…..This is the real story: Ugonna has been complaining to his father that his house in school was being invaded all the time by robbers so he doesn’t sleep there. He had a friend in the community that he spends the night with. Himself and his roommate were coming back from where they went to spend the night when they met their other friends Chiadika and Lloyd so they decided to go together. On their way, Lloyd said that he needed to collect his money from someone who was owing him. In the cause of collecting his money, the whole situation went bizzare and turned into a fight. The guy who was owing them started screaming and the vigilante group was alerted and they thought they were the criminals disturbing the community since they were more in number than the guy they went to collect their money from. that’s the real story, no laptops or phone or cultism involved. Those guys were homely and they were all christains. Also their parents are very comfortable and provides them with everything they needed. Lord have mercy on us.

Which is true?

But one thing is clear, even if they were the worst of people, killing them without them being heard or able to defend themselves in a law court, even a village square meeting,Or disciplinary commitee is so wrong, people are innocent till proving guilty

And even if found guilty the death penality is still up for debate.

Below as comments are  two video links I got but I have not watched, only the pics give me the chill not a fan of gore, would update as soon as I get more info, I also hear the video  made its way to CNN, this will further damage our reputation as an unsafe place to live, where people have more trust in taking laws into their hands than the proper authority.

God save Nigeria

About cknaija

cknaija@twitter.com
This entry was posted in news and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to update on lynching of 4 University students

  1. cknaija says:

    This is the video link of the students killed in uniport for stealing bb, laptop etc discretion is advised as contents of this video is very disturbing
    http://tinyurl.com/9ttsmxg

  2. cknaija says:

    I get more people commenting via blackberry, this one struck me:
    I have never been so sad in my entire life. I wept like a helpless child. 4 boys brutally beaten and murdered over the theft of phones and laptops??? and that is okay because??? What sort of nation have we moulded? Where has humanity gone? Where is the fear of God? With all the flaws of Nigeria as a country I have never been this ashamed to identify myself as a citizen. Who made anyone a judge? Why do we have the police authorities? Why didn’t anyone do something to stop it? How could people watch and comment casually during this barbaric act? Is this how far the hate and anger in our hearts has driven us? Stealing indeed is a crime but haven’t those who have taken the law into their hands committed a crime? Won’t they answer to authorities. Is this justified? This is a classic case of having misplaced priorities. Aren’t we governed and ruled by criminals and thieves? Leaders who rob us daily of our entitlements as citizens and human rights? Do we live in a free and fair nation? If we suffer all these from our leaders should we also inflict such pain on ourselves?No measures of the crime but however,it is not our place to judge. Isn’t this murder? Or have some of us suddenly enjoyed hurting and watchn people killed? Inflicting pain on the helpless? Haven’t we lost greater things? Haven’t we lost lives,human rights, good education, good roads, security, peace of mind. Has anyone done anything about that? How many are brave enough to face or question the rotten authorities who rise daily in corruption and self interest. My heart bleeds for Nigeria and her citizens. This is an act of anger and hate and inappropriate show of power. I feel like that man who beat those kids to death did it because he could , have we also lost our compassion and humanity?Couldn’t those kids be handed to the police?isn’t that the proper thing to do.My heart does not only bleed for nigeria and her rulers, it bleeds also for her citizens who carried out this barbaric act. God save our souls

  3. Susu says:

    I’ve not been myself since Friday when I saw the initial pictures. I also can’t bring myself to watch the video. There’s no moral justification for this, I don’t care the crime(s) commited. The people guilty of murder aren’t just those who beat and set them ablaze. Those who also stood by and took pictures and actually filmed 1. 2, 3, 4 people being killed are also guilty. My heart bleeds, honestly. I shudder to think that this is where I want to bring up my children. How did we get here, no respect for self, others and now human life?
    I am truly saddened. I can’t imagine what the parents of these boys are going through. If I feel so much pain, then… Its painful to lose a child, but the circumstances and manner of death is just too much to bear.
    I pray that for once, justice is actually served and the perpetrators and bystanders of this heinous crime are severely punished.
    Enough said.

Leave a Reply

