My wife got me a date with another woman

By yet to be Identified writer

After 21 years of marriage, my wife

wanted me to take another woman

out to dinner and a movie. She said I

love you but I know this other woman

loves you and would love to spend

some time with you.

The other woman that my wife

wanted me to visit was my MOTHER,

who has been a widow for 19 years,

but the demands of my work and my

three children had made it possible to

visit her only occasionally.

That night I called to invite her to go

out for dinner and a movie.

“What’s wrong, are you well,” she

asked?

“I thought that it would be pleasant to

be with you,” I responded. “Just the

two of us.”

She thought about it for a moment,

and then said, “I would like that very

much.”

That Friday after work, as I drove over

to pick her up I was a bit nervous.

When I arrived at her house, I noticed

that she, too, seemed to be nervous

about our date. She waited in the

door with her coat on. She had curled

her hair and was wearing the dress

that she had worn to celebrate her

last wedding anniversary.

She smiled from a face that was as

radiant as an angel’s.

“I told my friends that I was going to

go out with my son, and they were

impressed, “she said, as she got into

the car. They can’t wait to hearabout

our meeting”. We went to a restaurant

that, although not elegant, was very

nice and cozy. My mother took my

arm as if she were the First Lady. After

we sat down, I had to read the menu.

Half way through the entries, I lifted

my eyes and saw Mom sitting there

staring at me. A nostalgic smile was

on her lips “It was I who used to have

to read the menu when you were

small,” she said.

“Then it’s time that you relax and let

me return the favor,” I responded.

During the dinner, we had an

agreeable conversation – nothing

extraordinary, but catching up on

recent events of each other’s life. We

talked so much that we missed the

movie.

As we arrived at her house later, she

said, “I’ll go out with you again, but

only if you let me invite you.” I agreed.

“How was your dinner date?” asked

my wife when I got home. “Very nice.

Much more so than I could have

imagined,” I answered.

A few days later, my mother died. It

happened so suddenly that I did not

get to do anything for her.

Some time later, I received an

envelope with a copy of a restaurant

receipt from the same place where

mother and I had dined.

An attached note said: “I paid this bill

in advance. I wasn’t sure that I could

be there; but nevertheless, I paid for

two plates – one for you and the other

for your wife. You will never know

what that night meant for me. I love

you, son.”

At that moment, I understood the

importance of saying in time: “I LOVE

YOU!” and to give our loved ones the

time that they deserve. Nothing in life

is more important than your family.

Give them the time they deserve,

because these things cannot be put

off till “some other time.”

About cknaija

cknaija@twitter.com
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Relationship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My wife got me a date with another woman

  1. Pingback: September Topics Part 2 | cknaija's Blog

  2. chiomaahumaraeze says:

    Reblogged this on chiomaahumaraeze's Blog and commented:
    *Crying*

Leave a Reply

